Naming Your Characters (1/2)

For an author, choosing names for characters may be difficult but must surely be important, since certain names may have resonances which need to be considered. For example, and with apologies to anyone so named in real life, if you come across a character named Algernon in your reading, what might you expect? Firstly, that the book was probably written many decades ago and that the author was English. I would also tend to expect that the character was useless, and probably effete with it – a chinless wonder. So in my case, I am responding to the name with an off-the-shelf selection of stereotypes. But I will not be alone in that.

Or how about Sally? To me, Sally is cheerful, well-built and positive. A force for good. She is also energetic, played hockey, cricket and lacrosse at school, and cycles up vertical walls for charitable causes. As for Phyllis, she has too often been the butt of the same bad joke to be useable.

As well as suggesting a certain type of character, a name may also suggest social class. This is a difficult subject, since perceptions of social class vary greatly from one location to another. Returning to Algernon, we may be sure he didn’t mine coal, but he may have been a clergyman or an accountant. As things stand now, it may be that people who name their children after celebrities or pop stars are more likely to come from a lower social class, however we define it. So if you meet a girl called Gaga you can draw your own conclusions. Many other parents follow the fashion of the times while some try to create one of their own. In the past few months I have met a Destiny (a girl of unconstrained explosive force) a Saffron, a Miami, and a Xania.

Some names may be so neutral they can be safely be used for secondary characters without further thought. For me, James, Richard, David, Mary and Susan are in this category. But if we would like a suitable name for our hero, heroine, or villain, then we must give it more thought and live with our choice for a while till we know we are comfortable with it. Would you call your hero Herbert or your heroine Priscilla? I wouldn’t.

[Confession. I started giving this subject  more thought when I discovered that I’d used the same name for the main female character in two different books. When I realised what I’d done I couldn’t believe I hadn’t noticed at the time, but the name was one to which I was deeply attached and the fictional bearer of that name completely to be trusted. I then had to come up with a different name for one of these women and I didn’t find it easy. She was Lyndsay. How could she be anyone else? As stupidity goes this would take some beating].

2 thoughts on “Naming Your Characters (1/2)

  1. Oh I love this subject. How did you solve your two Lyndsays?

    I once did a similar thing. I started one comic where main character was a girl with short black hair. And some time later I started working on another one which was an entirely different type of story, but somehow at first sight both main female characters looked almost exactly the same. No other designs suited the girl number 2, so I gave up on it. I may return to that project one day.

    Like

    • I solved it be renaming one of the two Lyndsays.
      I found this difficult but, after much anguish,
      renamed one of them Pamela,
      since I had once known a straightforward and plain-dealing girl
      of that name.

      I am almost accustomed to it now.

      I hope you can pick up you project again sometime.

      Like

Leave a Reply

