Questions asked and answered

I have been asked by Sonya Rhen to answer four questions about the writing process.       Sonya has been very active lately in connection with National Poetry Month and her blog is well worth a visit.

http://sonyarhen.wordpress.com/

1. What am I working on?                                                                                                         I have recently published two novels (general fiction) and am now putting the finishing touches to a story for children before working on it with an illustrator. This, as they say, is not me at all. I don’t know where the idea came from but I’m not complaining.

2. How does my work differ from others in its genre?                                                   Probably in the way it keeps a balance between seriousness and humour, though this would be for others to judge.

3. Why do I write what I do?                                                                                        Because the ideas are there and I feel the need to give them some existence outside with my own head. That way, hopefully, they may have a life of their own.

4. How does my writing process work?                                                                                    I begin with the idea/ideas and sketch and draft an outline narrative. I avoid making this too detailed since these things take on a life of their own. No matter how good the plan may seem, I know I won’t be able to stick to it once I get going.

When a draft is complete I revise it as carefully as  I can, looking out for poor expression, unintentional repetitions of words, inconsistencies in the narrative and so on. All the usual things that lie in wait for us.

Lastly comes some fine tweaking. A slight change may feel like an improvement at the time, but is it? Checking it two days later will show whether it really convinces.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

