The Quantum World

Like many not in this field, I find quantum physics counter-intuitive. So when I read an article in New Scientist I found it so hard to believe I read it again. It seems that scientists at the Institut Laue-Langevin in Grenoble have succeeded in parting neutrons and their spin such that both existed independently.

 

English: Inside the reactor hall of the Instit...

English: Inside the reactor hall of the Institut Laue-Langevin – Grenoble, France (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

I wondered at the time whether such a thing would occur in nature left to itself, which has spent most of her existence (as far as we know) without scientists of any shape or form. As we note from television documentaries, the act of observation can cause changes in what is observed which might not otherwise occur.

Then I wondered, as many people do looking at the results of ‘pure science’, whether this achievement had any practical application. And finally it occurred to me that it had.

‘Well I’ll be cornswaggled!’ I said to myself in my light-bulb moment.

I have now written to the team suggesting a further series of experiments in which an attempt will be made to separate politicians from their spin – an altogether more challenging task.

 

2 thoughts on “The Quantum World

Leave a Reply

