What a mess

Said my friend, referring to a pavement with many weeds growing along it. The weeds should be zapped with weed-killer.

Looking at it from a theological perspective I can see no justification for the term ‘weed’. All living things have been created by God yet my friend, and many others, have decided that some of them are undesirable and should be killed. This cannot be right.

The pavement, on the other hand, was created by man, and it is hard to see why the man-made should take precedence over divine creation. In my capacity as the Reverend Rod, I cannot justify this. Let the weeds take over the world.

Furthermore, as the surface of the planet is gradually covered by pavements, car parks and buildings, I have to ask where the Lord’s water is supposed to go when it rains. One thing is sure, it will not refresh the soil underneath the ever increasing acreage of concrete and tarmac. (Has anyone attempted to measure what percentage of the earth’s soil has already been lost to us?)

Soil is usually taken for granted but is actually of great importance. To quote the beginning of the Wikipedia article on the subject:

Soil is the mixture of minerals, organic matter, gases, liquids and a myriad of organisms that can support plant life. It is a natural body that exists as part of the pedosphere and it performs four important functions: it is a medium for plant growth; it is a means of water storage, supply and purification; it is a modifier of the atmosphere; and it is a habitat for organisms that take part in decomposition and creation of a habitat for other organisms.

Soil profile 236x288 38.76 KB. Units are inches.

Soil profile 236×288 38.76 KB. Units are inches. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As we drove along the Lang Loan my friend also took a dim view of the verges. Some of the plants were approaching three feet in height. She would like to tidy them up but, there again, I have a problem. Look closely and we see that the verge is a habitat supporting many species of plants, insects, birds and small mammals, and I can find no support in scripture for moving in with our mechanical mowers and killing them all off.

Is being neat and tidy really such a good thing? Not when it comes to Nature.

Let the verges flourish, saith the preacher.

6 thoughts on “What a mess

  1. I was intrigued by the question of how much land is covered by concrete etc. It seems that it is between .2% and .5%, though of course an awful lot of earth is covered in water. I’m against weed-killer, but sometimes a good tidy-up in the garden or elsewhere is beneficial to both plants and animals, sayeth the fence-sitter.

    Like

  2. This figure is less than I suspected, though the concentrations are important too. Penny packets of concrete wouldn’t be too harmful but there aren’t many of those.

    BTW I read one of your posts concerning US tax and it fried my brain so I thought I’d just give the whole business a body-swerve. It didn’t work. They approached me on the subject so my brain was fried whether I liked it or not. One reason may be that our son lives and works in New York and I send him sums of money every year. They seem to be taking an interest in that sort of thing much more than before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

